July 30, 2020

Structure of The Atmosphere – General Knowledge

Structure of The Atmosphere

Structure of the Atmosphere

The structure of the atmosphere is classed into the subsequent layers:

  • Troposphere: 0 to 12 km
  • Stratosphere: 12 to 50 km
  • Mesosphere: 50 to 80 km
  • Thermosphere: 80 to 700 km
  • Exosphere: 700 to 10,000 km

Facts About the Earth


TroposphereThe structure of the atmosphere

  • The troposphere is the closest to the Earth’s surface and contains water vapor (clouds), moisture, dust,
  • Most of the weather phenomena occur in
  • Temperature decreases with altitude within the layer.
  • Height of the Troposphere varies i.e. at the equator, it’s measured regarding eighteen metric linear units and at the poles, it is 12
  • The tropopause is the transitional zone that separates Troposphere and Stratosphere.


  • The stratosphere is the second-lowest layer of the Earth’s Atmosphere that goes up to 50
  • The stratosphere contains Ozone (O3) Layer that absorbs the ultraviolet rays(coming through the Sun rays) and protects life on the
  • As the actinic radiation absorbs in layer, so the temperature rises with increasing
  • Stratopause is that the shift zone that separates layer and layer.


  • Mesosphere, gift higher than the layer, extends up to (from fifty metric linear unit to) eighty
  • The temperature within the layer decreases with increasing
  • Menopause is the transitional zone that separates Mesosphere and Thermosphere.


  • Above the layer, the layer is that the second-highest layer that starts at the altitude of eighty metric linear unit and extends up to (roughly) 700 metric linear unit (however, it varies between five hundred and one thousand km).
  • The lower part of the Thermosphere (roughly between 80 km and 550 km) contains ions and known as the Ionosphere.
  • The temperature of the layer rises with increasing
  • Thermopause is that the shift zone that separates layer and layer.


  • The exosphere is the highest or outermost layer of the Earth’s atmosphere that extends (starting from 700 km altitude) up to 10,000 km where it ultimately merges into the solar wind.
  • Major constituents of the Exosphere are helium, hydrogen, nitrogen, oxygen, and carbon dioxide.
  • The Satellite (orbiting the Earth) is generally placed within the layer (as shown within the image given above).

Structure of The Atmosphere

  • The Satellite (orbiting the Earth) is normally placed in the Exosphere (as shown in the image given above).




  • The composition of the Earth’s atmosphere changes with the
  • The major constituents of the Earth’s atmosphere are:
    • Oxygen – 95%
    • Nitrogen – 09%
    • Argon – 93%
  • The pressure exerted by a load of air at a given purpose is understood as “Atmospheric Pressure” or “Barometric Pressure.”
  • With increasing altitude, the air pressure decreases.
  • On average, a column of air (which is normally one square centimeter in cross-section), measured at the sea level, has a weight of about 1.03 kg (about 10.1 N).
  • The Average atmospheric pressure is regarding fourteen.70 pounds per square measure, (equivalent to one,013.25 × one03 dynes per sq. cm or 1,013.25 millibars) at the ocean level.
  • A visible mass of condensed vapor floating higher than the overall level of the bottom is understood as Cloud.
  • Based on the altitude, the cloud is classified as:
    • High Altitude Cloud: For example, Cirrus, Cirrocumulus, & Cirrostratus.
    • Middle Altitude Cloud: For example, Altostratus and Altocumulus.
    • Low Altitude Cloud: Stratus, Stratocumulus, Cumulus, and Nimbostratus (it can be also seen in the middle altitude).
    • Vertical: Cumulonimbus
Heads, Capitals, Population, Areas, and Currencies of World Countries-States

This post contains the content of book General Knowledge Tutorial